Public Holidays in South Sudan

Public & Holidays South Sudan

There are 14 public holidays in South Sudan. 3 of the most important days are South Sudan observes SPLA (Sudan People’s Liberation Army) Day on 16 May to commemorate the beginning of the formation of the SPLA on that date in 1983. This began a civil war in Sudan that lasted around 20 years. Independence Day on 9 July, the day in 2011 when it separated from Sudan to become an independent nation. This was the result of a two-decades-long civil war between north and south in which many thousands of people perished. And on 30 July is Martyrs’ Day in South Sudan, a day set aside to remember those who gave their lives to liberate the country from oppression imposed on them from the north. It commemorates the sacrifice of those who rebelled against Sudan’s Sharia Law and forced conversion policy and won the freedom of their homeland after decades of bloody struggle. Other public holidays are:

New Year's Day                                      1 January

Good Friday                                           Varies Yearly

Holy Saturday                                         Varies Yearly

Easter Sunday                                        Varies Yearly

Easter Monday                                       Varies Yearly

Labour Day                                             1 May

Sudan People's Liberation Army Day     16 May

Independence Day                                  9 July

Martyrs' Day                                           30 July

Eid-al-Fitr                                                Varies Yearly

Eid-al-Adha                                             Varies Yearly

Christmas Eve                                        24 December

Christmas Day                                        25 December

Boxing Day                                             26 December

外国為替レート   to

  1 =